AI receptionists and AI answering services
An AI receptionist answers your business line, books appointments, takes messages and passes callers to a person when they ask. Here's how the vendors compare on price model, software they connect to, and whether a human can step in.
45 vendors, checked against vendor sources as of October 15, 2026.
Compare AI receptionists
45 vendors
| Vendor | Charges by | Starts at | Cost at 100 to 2,000 calls | How it works | HIPAA BAA | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abby Connect | Per minute | $165/mo | AI with human backup | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 | |
| AI Recepts | Per minute | $69/mo | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 | |
| Allo | Per seat | $32/user/mo | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 |
| Aloware | Per seat | $40/user/mo | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 |
| Answrr | Per minute | $99/mo | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 | |
| Arini | Quote only | Quote | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 |
| Assort Health | Quote only | Quote | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 |
| Avoca | Quote only | Quote | Quote or usage-based | AI with human backup | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 |
| Beside | Flat monthly | $29/mo | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 | |
| CaseGen | Quote only | Quote | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 |
| Clerx | Quote only | Quote | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 |
| CloudTalk AI Voice Agents | Flat monthly | $124/mo | Quote or usage-based | AI with human backup | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 |
| Dentina | Per location | $299/mo | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 | |
| Dialpad AI Receptionist (Dialpad Resolve AI Agents) | Per call | See pricing | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 |
| Dialzara | Per minute | $29/mo | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 | |
| EliseAI | Quote only | Quote | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 |
| Goodcall | Per unique caller | $79/mo | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 | |
| GoTo Connect AI Receptionist | Quote only | Quote | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 |
| Grasshopper AI Receptionist (with Smith.ai) | Not stated | $95/mo | Quote or usage-based | AI with human backup | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 |
| Hello Patient | Quote only | Quote | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 |
| Hyro | Quote only | Quote | Quote or usage-based | AI with human backup | Yes | Oct 2026 |
| JustCall AI Voice Agent | Per minute | $99/mo | Quote or usage-based | AI with human backup | Yes | Oct 2026 |
| Loman | Quote only | Quote | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 |
| Maple | Flat monthly | $150/mo | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 |
| Moneypenny AI Receptionist | Per call | $69/mo | AI with human backup | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 | |
| My AI Front Desk (Frontdesk) | Per minute | $99/mo | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 | |
| Netic | Quote only | Quote | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 |
| Nextiva XBert AI Receptionist | Per call | $99/mo | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 | |
| NextPhone | Flat monthly | $199/mo | AI only | No | Oct 2026 | |
| Numa | Quote only | Quote | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 |
| PupPilot | Quote only | Quote | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 |
| Quo Sona (formerly OpenPhone) | Per call | $19/mo | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 | |
| RingCentral AI Receptionist (AIR) | Flat monthly | $39/mo | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 | |
| Rondah | Quote only | Quote | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 |
| Rosie | Per minute | $49/mo | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 | |
| Ruby | Per minute | $250/mo | Quote or usage-based | Human receptionists with AI | Yes | Oct 2026 |
| Sameday AI | Flat monthly | $449/mo | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 | |
| Simple Phones | Per call | $97/mo | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 | |
| Slang AI | Per location | $399/mo | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 |
| Smith.ai | Per call | Free tier | AI with human backup | Unconfirmed | Oct 2026 | |
| Trillet | Per minute | $49/mo | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 |
| Upfirst | Per call | $24.95/mo | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 | |
| Viva AI | Flat monthly | $349/mo | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 | |
| Weave AI Receptionist | Quote only | Quote | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 |
| Zoom Virtual Agent Receptionist | Flat monthly | $25/mo | Quote or usage-based | AI only | Yes | Oct 2026 |
AI receptionists by industry
- For small businesses40
- For dental offices14
- For medical practices19
- For HVAC companies17
- For plumbers17
- For home service businesses and contractors17
- For electricians15
- For roofers15
- For law firms19
- For real estate agents and brokerages15
- For property managers8
- For restaurants12
- For auto dealers and repair shops13
- For veterinary clinics6
- For insurance agencies12
- For salons and spas9
What an AI receptionist does
An AI receptionist is a voice agent that picks up your calls, usually after hours, during busy periods or all the time. It follows a script and a knowledge base you set up, books into a calendar or your business software, sends text confirmations, and hands calls to a person based on rules you choose.
Some services are AI only. Others are answering services that put AI first and keep human receptionists on standby. A third group adds an AI receptionist to a business phone system you may already pay for, such as RingCentral or Dialpad.
What to check before you pick one
- How it charges
- Per minute, per call, per unique caller, flat monthly or per location. The cheapest plan depends on your call volume and call length.
- Booking
- Whether it writes appointments into the software you run on, not just a generic calendar.
- Hand-off
- Whether it can warm-transfer to a person, and what happens when nobody picks up.
- Disclosure and recording
- Whether it tells callers it's an AI and how it handles recording consent in all-party states.
- Patient data
- For healthcare, whether the vendor signs a HIPAA business associate agreement.
Questions
How much do AI receptionists cost?
Of the 45 AI receptionists we track, 30 publish prices. Paid plans with a published monthly price start between $19 (Quo Sona (formerly OpenPhone)) and $449 (Sameday AI) a month, with a median starting price of $97. 15 quote on request.
How do AI receptionists charge?
By quote only (15), per minute (9), flat monthly (8), per call (7), per seat (2), per location (2), per unique caller (1), not stated (1). The cheapest option depends on how many calls you get and how long they last.