Grasshopper AI Receptionist (with Smith.ai)
AI receptionists
Grasshopper, GoTo's virtual phone service for small businesses, sells receptionist coverage through a partnership with Smith.ai: an AI receptionist, live human receptionists, or a mix such as AI after hours and people during the day. The business uploads a call playbook, and the receptionist answers FAQs, qualifies callers, routes calls and schedules appointments. Grasshopper lists the AI receptionist from $95 a month.
Visit Grasshopper AI Receptionist (with Smith.ai)Pricing page
- Charges by
- Not stated
- Starts at
- $95/mo
- How it works
- AI with human backup
- Free trial
- Grasshopper's phone service has a 7-day free trial with no credit card; whether the receptionist is included in the trial is not stated
- Checked
- October 15, 2026
Grasshopper AI Receptionist (with Smith.ai) pricing
| Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| 24/7 AI Receptionist | $95/mo | Included calls or minutes not stated |
- Grasshopper's virtual receptionist page shows 'Starts at $95/month' as the monthly cost of a 24/7 AI receptionist, with no tiers, included usage or overage. Setup starts with signing up for Grasshopper and choosing a number, so a Grasshopper phone plan appears to be needed; Grasshopper's pricing page says plans start at $14/month billed annually but did not show plan names in the content fetched. Grasshopper's pages do not say whether the receptionist is billed by Grasshopper or by Smith.ai, or what live-receptionist time costs.
What it does
- Answers inbound calls
- Yes
- Places outbound calls
- Unconfirmed
- Books appointments
- Yes
- Warm transfer to a person
- Unconfirmed
- Text follow-up
- Unconfirmed
- Call recording
- Unconfirmed
- Transcripts
- Unconfirmed
- CRM sync
- Unconfirmed
- Keep your number (porting)
- Unconfirmed
- Spanish
- Unconfirmed
- Other languages
- Unconfirmed
- Web chat
- Unconfirmed
- API
- Unconfirmed
- Custom voice
- Unconfirmed
The virtual receptionist page lists bilingual English and Spanish support among receptionist features but does not say whether it applies to the AI option or only to live receptionists.
Security and compliance
- Signs a HIPAA BAA
- Unconfirmed
- SOC 2
- Unconfirmed
- Discloses it's an AI
- Unconfirmed
Grasshopper's receptionist pages do not mention HIPAA or a BAA.
“Unconfirmed” means Grasshopper AI Receptionist (with Smith.ai)'s public pages don't say either way. Rules for AI phone calls
Company
- Built for
- Small business
- Built on
- Smith.ai
Sources
- Grasshopper virtual receptionist (AI and human, with Smith.ai) pricing, features. Accessed October 15, 2026
- Grasshopper product updates features, status. Accessed October 15, 2026
- Grasshopper pricing pricing. Accessed October 15, 2026
- GoTo blog: Grasshopper 2026 spring updates (May 6, 2026) status, features, company. Accessed October 15, 2026
- Grasshopper blog: new features for small businesses (May 6, 2026) status, features. Accessed October 15, 2026
Spot something out of date? Email contact@aivoiceagentvendors.com with a link to the vendor's page.
Grasshopper AI Receptionist (with Smith.ai) alternatives
- Abby ConnectPer minute, from $165/mo
- AvocaQuote only, quote only
- CloudTalk AI Voice AgentsFlat monthly, from $124/mo
- JustCall AI Voice AgentPer minute, from $99/mo
- Moneypenny AI ReceptionistPer call, from $69/mo
- Smith.aiPer call, from Free tier
Compare Grasshopper AI Receptionist (with Smith.ai) alternatives side by side